Tutor Feedback – Assignment 2 People Unaware

After completing the second assignment, I was a little disappointed to here my current tutor is no longer going to be working with the OCA.

My next allocated tutor stated the following as an opening statement for my submission on People Unaware ‘ Thanks Andrew for submitting your second assignment, after recently transferring tutors. I can see from your blog that you are working methodically through the course materials. Keep pushing yourself into new areas and techniques, taking risks in order to develop your skills and learning through your degree pathway.’

The comments go on to say ‘ You have reflected well on the event itself and your process in order to capture these images. It would be also useful to reflect on the success of the images and think about how they sit together as a group. You have certainly captured a good impression of the activities at the event, taking sensitive shots of people unaware. Your shots are carefully composed and well lit clearly showing your technical skills.

One comment was to try and make use of contact sheets. I look through other students work and to be honest is something I see little of. I can understand the use of contact sheets to see how the student is working, and thinking through images for submission and why, and also why other are not suitable. I think however though that unlike the older days of film, where these images can be marked and crossed for a possibility that the digital side can take a lot more work. I will see how can incorporate this in future assignments.

I feel I am not getting as much of an overall confidence boost from this new tutor, and that I am being told only what images need work and for the reasons why, but Im not getting any comments on what images have worked which does little for my confidence.

However I will press on and hope to improve where I can based on comments received.

Leave a Reply

