Getting started with People and Place

The Brief:

The second part of the ‘OCA Art of Photography’ course degree will concentrate on the subject of People and Place. Within this title will come two main types of portrait actions which include both People Aware, and People Unaware. In order to make the photographer more comfortable with people unaware, we are going to start with people aware to help break us in and become more comfortable.

Many photographers feel too embarrassed or concerned when it comes to taking pictures of strangers without the others consent, and a prime example would be street photography where you point a camera at someone walking by, hoping they either did not see the camera or they just don’t mind and carry on. Most of my work is done in Dubai, a middle eastern country where pointing a camera at someone in the street, shopping mall, metro station or office location may become a problem. When it comes to these situations I will need to be very careful how I go about this part of the course.

For the onset it will be fairly easy to take pictures of some close friends and family. My concern will be the limited choice of subjects without it becoming too repetitive with only a few chosen subjects at hand.

Suggested course reading material has been mentioned in the OCA notes, so I will need to see if these books are available here or if I need to order from Amazon.Co.UK and have them delivered. Portrait I must admit is not something I have a great deal of experience with so this will be a good learning experience for me. In addition Im sure I will  be gaining a lot of information form other web sites and professional portrait photographers.

Some of my  preferred portrait photographers I intend to study are Steve McCurry, whose book ‘Untold- The Stories behind the Photographs’ I already have, Lee Jeffries who is a great for his intense B&W photos, Rehahn, famous for photos taken in Vietnam and Cuba, Joe McNally, always one of my favourite photographers, David duChemin a renowned  Humanitarian photographer, and not forgetting some of the past greats such as Henri Cartier-Bresson, war photgrapher Robert Capa, and Gregory Heisler whose book ’50 Portraits’ is a classic and a must have book.

So onto the second section of my OCA course ‘People and Place. I hope you take time to browse my blogs and please free to comment.

Leave a Reply

